Vikes haul in numerous district awards

The Southwest District announced its postseason awards and Sub-District teams for football Postseason Awards and Minneota athletes and coaches figured prominently in the awards.

In the West Sub-District, Minneota’s Chad Johnston was named Coach of the Year while Isaac Hennen took home MVP and Defensive Back of the Year, Alex Pohlen took Offensive Back of the Year and Ethan Krier was named Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Austin Schmitt of Dawson-Boyd was named Offensive Lineman of the Year.

In the East, Wabasso’s Joe Kemp was named Coach of the Year while Cooper Taylor took MVP and Offensive Back of the Year, Ty Kemp was named Defensive Back of the Year and Isaac Schmiesing took Defensive Lineman of the Year.

BJ Mages of New Ulm Cathedral was named Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Sub-District team

On the West Sub-District team, the Class A Champion Minneota Vikings were led by Alex Pohlen, Isaac Hennen, Ethan Krier, Thomas Hennen, Ty Lipinski and Shawn Buysse. Dawson-Boyd was represented by Austin Schmitt, Tyler Franzky, Bentley Boike, Colton Husby and Keaton Schuelke. Josh Hansen, Blake Mercer, Riley Kockelman and Zach Durfee all made it for Canby.

Kole Johnson and Ayden Friese were the representatives for Yellow Medicine East while Austin Kosen and Elijah Sterner made it for Lakeview. Joining them were Peyton Mortenson, Isaac Gerdes, Korbin Kells and Clayton Beck from Lac qui Parle Valley and Nathan Strong, Elijah Cloos, Jacob Hoernemann and Tyson Powell from Ortonville.

On the West Honorable Mention Team were Cole VanOverbeke and Cole Sanow from Minneota, Alex Swenson and Josh Anyasike from Dawson-Boyd, Braiden Kittelson and Dain Haas from LQPV, Ben Eustice and Matt Wellendorf from Ortonville, Brandon Moeller and Payton Viessman from Canby, Nicholas Lindstrom and Bryce Schmidt of YME and Isaac Kesteloot and Aaron Loe of Lakeview.

On the East Sub-District team, the Class A runner-up Wabasso Rabbits were led by Nick Altermatt, Cooper and Colton Taylor, Isaac Schmiesing, Jacob Plaetz and Ty Kemp. Murray County Central was represented by Zach Aanenson, Kolton Wendorff, Teagan Peschges and Noah Boerboom while Moses Dolan, Austin Buchholz and Nash Mayer all made it for Tracy-Milroy-Balaton. Joining them were BJ Mages, Colton Braulick, Tyler Wilson, Nate Hauser and David Berg from New Ulm Cathedral, Carter Tauer, Landon Strong and Isaac Velasquez from Sleepy Eye, Devin Johnson, James Ploeger and Decker Scheffler from Springfield and Ryan Wieneke and Landon Rogers from Adrian.

On the East Honorable Mention team were Myles Zeug and Tony Franta from Wabasso, Matt Guggisberg and Zack Helget from NUC, Justin Benda and Ethan Swanson from MCC, Jake Byrne and Matt Timmerman from TMB, Jacob Berg and Zach Haala from Sleepy Eye, Andrew Beckman and Mason Rummel from Springfield and Nick Harder and Lance Luettel from Adrian.

Sub-District All-Academic team

On the West Sub-District All-Academic team were Jacob Crowser, Payton Viessman, Jaden Kindopp, Riley Kockelman, Anthony Nemitz and Noah Steffen from Canby; Landon Abraham, Alex Pohlen, Isaac Hennen, Thomas Hennen, Tanner Sterzinger, Mitchell Rost and Ty Lipinski from Minneota; Tyler Franzky, Seth Stratmoen, Alex Swenson, Colton Husby and Keaton Schuelke from Dawson-Boyd; Wyatt Risa, Kamden Maag and Elijah Sterner from Lakeview and Bryce Schmidt from YME. Joining them were Jerrod Higgins, Peyton Mortenson and Dain Haas from LQPV and Nathan Strong from Ortonville.

On the East Sub-District All-Academic team were Zach Aanenson, Noah Boerboom, Matt and Mason Woldt from Murray County Central; Nick Altermatt, Jayden Eis, Ty Kemp, Jacob Plaetz, Myles Zeug, Sam Rabenberg and Dylan Woodford from Wabasso. Joining them were Skylar Polzine, Tucker Wieneke and Dakota John from Adrian, Andrew Beckman, Tim Rogotzke and Jake Veenstra from Springfield, Nathan Hauser and Mark Schommer from New Ulm Cathedral and Zach Haala from Sleepy Eye.

Contact Us

The Minneota Mascot
Address: 201 N. Jefferson
Minneota, MN 56264

Phone:(507) 872-6492