Cole VanOverbeke pinned Angel Martinez of Adrian.

Wrestling slides through first round

 Jackson County Central surprised Wabasso/Red Rock Central, upsetting the No. 4-ranked Rabbits, 38-33.

With that win, Jackson advances to Saturday's four-team finals at Windom and will face the No. 1-ranked Minneota Vikings.

Minneota got a 55-21 win over Adrian Area after Adrian beat St. James, 38-31.

In the lower bracket, Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove advanced past Windom Area/Mt. Lake, 52-15 and Canby beat Pipestone Area, 37-28.

Saturday's finals at Windom will include:

12:30 p.m. — Minneota vs. Jackson Co. Central

Tracy-M-B/WWG vs. Canby


Thursday night Minneota saved injured wrestler T.J. Esping. Since the outcome was already decided, Coach Joel Skillings decided to give Esping two more days rest.

Eric Carrasco did return from an arm injury and pinned Breyer Hieronimus in 1:38 to start the match with a pin.

Kade Lozinski and Teddy Pesch got into the pinning bracked and Blake Reiss followed with a major decision to get the ball rolling for the Vikings.

Coach Skillings had inserted Truman Wambeke into the 126 spot where senior Brant Buysse would have been. He's out with a broken foot.

Wambeke lost, the Vikings went on a six-match splurge, winning them all, with two forfeits thrown in. Teddy Pesch, Cole VanOverbeke and Josh Laleman each got wins.

But perhaps the most impressive was a nice 4-2 win by Austin Kloos at 145 pounds. He beat Chandler Combs and the Vikings were rolling.

Minneota 55, Adrian Area 21
106-Eric Carrasco (M) pin Breyer Hieronimus,1:38.

113-Logan Taylor (A) dec. Jonah Gruenes, 9-4.

120-Kade Lozinski (M) pin Quentin Wolf, :39.

126-Isaac Bullerman (A) pin Truman Wambeke, 1:34.

132-Teddy Pesch (M) pin Brent Hokeness, 1:10.

138: Blake Reiss (M) major dec. Logan Sherer, 11-3.

145-Austin Kloos (M) dec. Chandler Combs, 4-2.

152-Cole Vanoverbeke (M) pin Axel Martinez, 2:00.

160-Kyle Banks (M) won on forfeit.

170-Josh Laleman (M) pin Max  Lehmann, :49.

182-Layne Lozinski (M) pin William White-McEliece, :25.

195-Shawn Buysse (M) won on forfeit.

220-Beau Bullerman (A) pin Tyler Gronke, 2:43.

285-Scot Edwards (A) pin Jackson Esping, :18.

Contact Us

The Minneota Mascot
Address: 201 N. Jefferson
Minneota, MN 56264

Phone:(507) 872-6492