Peyton Gillund, right, tries to turn Alexander Schuh of Tracy-Milroy- Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove in their 113-pound match on Saturday. Gillund won 12-9.

Wrestlers fall in 3A heartbreaker

Individuals to start Friday

Losing is never easy. But losing by one point makes the loss even harder, especially when the team you lose to goes on to win a championship. That’s what happened to Minneota on Saturday in Lamberton. The Vikings entered the Section 3A tournament as the No. 3 seed behind No. 1 Canby and No. 2 Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove.

The gap between those three teams was slim. TMB/WWG nipped Minneota 30-29 in the 3A semifinals. TMB/WWG then knocked off Canby 36-34 in the championship to earn a trip to the Class A state tournament Feb. 27 at the Xcel Energy Center in Minneapolis.

“As coaches, all you can ever ask is that your wrestlers go out and leave it all on the mat,” said Minneota Coach Matt Myrvik. “I thought they did everything we asked them to do to prepare for the post-season and they accepted the challenge.”TMB/WWG advances to the state tournament for the third straight year.

“TMB, Canby, and Jackson County Central were the teams all year long that everyone was saying had a shot to win this section,” Myrvik said. “I don’t think Minneota was ever considered a threat. But Saturday, I believe they showed what hard work and effort can accomplish.”

When Minneota and TMB/WWG squared off during the regular season, the Vikings allowed six falls in a loss. In this latest match, that number was reduced to three, including one late in a match. Eric Carrasco came up with a big win for the Vikings when he defeated Ayden Horner, the No. 1-ranked wrestler at 120 pounds, 4-2.

That followed Peyton Gillund’s 12-9 win at 113 pounds, giving Minneota a 6-3 lead. Minneota won four of the next five matches, including a pin by Kade Lozinski at 132, a technical fall by Jonah Gruenes at 138, a decision by Alex DePestel at 145, and a decision by Blake Reiss at 152.

“Eric had not been able to practice much due to an illness all week,” said Myrvik. “I do believe that moving Eric to 120 told Peyton that we believed in him and expected him to win.”

“A strong start helped us to believe that we could be in this duel to the end. We also wrestled eighth-grader Alex DePestel against a senior from TMB because we knew he had the ability to win this match, but it was a tough spot to put a kid in when they do not have much varsity experience.”

That gave the Vikings a 23-6 advantage before TMB/WWG rallied back by winning five consecutive matches, including three pins, clinching the match. Jayden Gamrak capped the match with a pin at heavyweight for Minneota.

Minneota will compete in the 3A individuals on Friday and Saturday in Canby.

First round

Windom/Mountain Lake 54, Springfield 30

Wabasso/Red Rock Central 70, Fulda/Murray County Central 9

Pipestone 45, St. James 33


Jackson County Central 45, Windom/ML 29

Canby 48, Adrian 17

Minneota 47, Wabasso/RRC 21

Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove 64, Pipestone 16


Canby 34, Jackson County Central 30

Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/WWG 30, Minneota 29


Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/WWG 36, Canby 34

Semifinals Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/WWG 30, Minneota 29

  • 106: Devin Carter, TMBWWF, dec Troy Van Keulen 3-0
  • 113: Peyton Gillund, Min, dec Alexander Schuh 12-9
  • 120: Eric Carrasco, Min, dec Ayden Horner 4-2
  • 126: Levi Ellington, TMBWWG, dec Zack Fier 2-1
  • 132: Kade Lozinski, Min, pin Jayden Torgeson 5:22
  • 138: Jonah Gruenes, Min, techfall Blaine Petersen 16-1
  • 145: Alex DePestel, Min, dec Sawyer Otto 8-6
  • 152: Blake Reiss, Min, dec Caden Johnson 5-0
  • 160: Sawyer Schwartz, TMB, pin Branden Johnson :26
  • 170: Jace Paplow, TMBWWG, pin Conner Sik 3:46
  • 182: Gabe Krick, TMBWWG, dec Cole Sanow 9-3
  • 195: Eathan Martinez, TMB, pin Hudson Scholten 3:56
  • 220: Trevor Esifeld, TMBWWG, dec Jackson Esping 7-2
  • 285: Jayden Gamrak, Min, pin Nic Willhite :30

Quarterfinals Minneota 47, Red Rock Central 21

  • 106: Troy Van Keulen, Min, pin Aryden Tietz 1:40
  • 113: Peyton Gillund, Min, maj Zackary Zimmerman 12-3
  • 120: Eric Carrasco, Min, won by forfeit
  • 126: Truman Wambeke, Min, pin Carter Beranek :55
  • 132: Zack Fier, Min, techfall Chase Irlbeck 15-0
  • 138: Kade Lozinski, Min, won by forfeit
  • 145: Jonah Gruenes, Min, majdec Mason Irlbeck 8-0
  • 152: Blake Reiss, Min, majdec Josh Hesse 9-0
  • 160: Hayden Determan, WRRC, pin Conner Sik 1:14
  • 170: Cole Sanow, Min, dec Vander Mathiowetz 7-2
  • 182: Damian Osland, WRRC, dec Hudson Scholten 10-4
  • 195: Lance Wagner, WRRC, pin Tyler Gronke :42
  • 220: Derek Werner, WRRC, pin Jackson Esping :25
  • 285: Jayden Gamrak, Min, dec Cory Anderson 6-4

Contact Us

The Minneota Mascot
Address: 201 N. Jefferson
Minneota, MN 56264

Phone:(507) 872-6492