Shawn Buysse (top), who won two matches at Browerville, had a nice hold on his opponent.

Under-manned wrestlers drop three

An under-manned Minneota wrestling squad traveled to Browerville on Friday and lost three matches.

Wrestling without heavyweight T.J. Esping and 126-pounder Brant Buysse, the coaching staff had to re-vamp the Minneota lineup just days after the Vikings were moved up in the state rankings from No. 7 to No. 3.

Shawn Buysse at 182, although he won two matches, lost a critical, 2-1 decision to Levin Larkin, 2-1. West Central Area won that match by eight points.

The only Minneota wrestler to go unscathed Friday was Teddy Pesch at 132. He won three, major decision matches.

Eric Carrasco, Cole VanOverbeke, Kyle Banks and Blake Reiss all won two matches at Browerville.

Here are the team results:

West Central Area/Ashby-Brandon-Evansville 36,
Minneota 28
106-Eric Carrasco (M) maj. dec. Anthony Sykora, 15-4.
113-Jordan Lohse (WCAA) dec. Jonah Gruenes, 6-0.
120-Kade Lozinski (M) maj. dec. Ruebens Swanson, 13-0.
126-Kaleb Getz (WCAA) pin James Gednalske, 1:08.
132-Teddy Pesch (M) maj. dec. Chris Onstad, 10-0.
138-Blake Reiss (M) pin Kade Olson, 5:10.
145-Cole VanOverbeke (M) maj. dec. Hunter Mickelsen, 10-2.
152-Kyle Banks (M) pin John Barber, :53.
160-Alex Butcher (WCAA) pin Justin Johnson, 1:09.
170-Kaden Spindler (WCAA) pin Josh Laleman, 1:26.
182-Levi Larkin (WCAA) dec. Shawn Buysse, 2-1.
1905-Wyatt Olson (WCAA) dec. Layne Lozinski, 6-2.
220-Devin Stone (WCAA) dec. Jackson Esping, 6-4.
285-Mason Nibbe (WCAA) won on forfeit.

Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa 40, Minneota 31
106-Eric Carrasco (M) dec. Walker Bents, 3-2.
113-Blaine Fischer (BBE) maj. dec. Jonah Gruenes, 10-0.
120-Canon Swanson (BBE) pin Kade Lozinski, 1:45.
126-Tyler Jensen (BBE) pin James Gednalske, :44.
132-Teddy Pesch (M) maj. dec. Dylan Kampsen, 13-2.
138-Tyler Bents (BBE) maj. dec. Blake Reiss, 15-4.
145-Cole VanOverbeke (M) pin Taiton Linder, :41.
152-Adam Jaeger (BBE) maj. dec. Austin Kloos 21-9.
160-Isaiah Gilbert (BBE) maj. dec. Kyle Banks, 14-2.
170-Josh Laleman (M) pin Mark Jenniges, 4:38.
182-Shawn Buysse (M) pin Isaac Kampsen, :51.
195-Trevor Kern (BBE) pin Layne Lozinski, 2:24.
220-Seth Roering (BBE) pin Tyler Gronke, 3:07.
HWT-Jackson Esping (M) pin Joseph Thompson, :21.

Long Prairie-Grey Eagle/Browerville 47, Minneota 16
106-Carter Meiners (LPGE/BR) dec. Eric Carrasco, 4-2
113-Justin Crandall (LPGE/BR) pin Jonah Gruenes, 1:12.
120-Landon Gode (LPGE/BR) pin Kade Lozinski, 4:35.
126-Mason Gode (LPGE/BR) pin James Gednalkse, 1:15.
132-Teddy Pesch (M) maj. dec. Nye Becker, 8-0.
138-Blake Reiss (M) Fall Riley Thom, 5:14.
145-Austin Carr (LPGE/BR) dec. Austin Kloos, 8-3.
152-Thomas Pesta (LPGE/BR) dec. Cole VanOverbeke, 15-7.
160-Kyle Banks (M) dec. Caleb Pesta, 10-8.
170-Dalton Butler (LPGE/BR) pin Josh Laleman, 2:25.
182-Shawn Buysse (M) dec. Keegan Cavallero, 4-2.
195-Levi Line (LPGE/BR) dec. Layne Lozinski, 4-0.
220-Hans Holmquist (LPGE/BR) maj. dec. Trey Gronke,14-5.
285-Devin Lange (LPGE/BR) pin Jackson Esping (MIN) 1:03


Contact Us

The Minneota Mascot
Address: 201 N. Jefferson
Minneota, MN 56264

Phone:(507) 872-6492