Sussner chosen defensive player of the year

The West Sub-District has named Minneota senior Logan Sussner as the Defensive Lineman of the Year. Among the top honors in the West sub-district, Canby’s Nick Kockelman was named the Coach of the Year while RTR’s Hess was named MVP and Offensive Back of the Year.

Canby’s Steffen was named the Offensive Lineman of the Year while Lakeview’s Marczak was named the Defensive Back of the Year. As a result, Sussner was the only Viking to nab a major award.

Also named from Minneota to the All-West District team were: Blake Reiss, Alex Saltzer, Cole Sanow, Logan Sussner, Beau Banish and AJ Myhre. Honorable Mention from Minneota were Jacob Citterman and AJ Josephson. All-Academic Players from Minneota were: Blake Reiss, Cole Sanow, Logan Sussner, Tate Walerius and Jacob Citterman.

In the West Sub-District, Canby’s Kalib Greenman, Parker Viessman, Shane Noyes, Josh Steffen and Ty Stoks made the squad. Others were: Josh Anyasike, Romell Horton, Slade Irvine, Micah Olson and Austin Moen of Dawson-Boyd while RTR was led by Kyle Fischer, Payton Hess, Collin Johnson, Cade Jorgensen and Tim Gilmore.

Lakeview was led by Carter Louwagie, Brock Kvistad and Colby Marczak while Angel Jimenez and Carter Sneller made it for Yellow Medicine East. Joining them were Lac qui Parle Valley’s Mason Clark, Tucker Droogsma and Layton Wittnebel and MACCRAY’s Rhys Schwitters and Brady Kienitz.

Many awards were handed out to Viking football players on Thursday night at KB’s in Ghent. See photos and award announcement from the awards banquet on Page 7.

Contact Us

The Minneota Mascot
Address: 201 N. Jefferson
Minneota, MN 56264

Phone:(507) 872-6492