Members of the Minneota Youth Wrestling Team are headed to state!

Minneota youth qualify for state wrestling meet

 Minneota Youth Wrestling competed in the Region 2 Team Tournament on Saturday, March 17 at the Tracy Pavilion and qualified as a team to wrestle in the state tournament.

Teams were competing for a trip to the 2018 NYWA State Tournament. The top six teams advance to the one class 32 team State Tournament in Rochester on April 7 and 8. Minneota had a good tournament finishing 2-2 and finishing in fifth place to advance.

They dropped two really close duals and with a young team, this will be a great experience to help them grow as a team. This is Minneota's 16th State Tournament trip since 1997.

Region 2 Team Tournament Results 1. Marshall / Lakeview / RTR; 2. Albert Lea; 3. Adrian; 4. St. Peter; 5. Minneota; 6. TMB/WWG; 7. Windom; 8. Blue Earth Area.

Minneota Region Results:

Adrian 42, Minneota 34

Minneota 57, Windom 17

St. Peter 37, Minneota 34

Minneota 51, TMB/WWG 30

Minneota team members and weights were:

45 pounds-Derek Fier, first place

50 pounds-Hunter Danielson, fourth place.

55 pounds- Nolan Van Keulen, third place.

60 pounds-Heydan Danielson, third place.

65 pounds-Cael Fier, third place.

70 pounds-Adam DeVlaeminck, fourth place.

75 pounds-Destin Fier, fifth place.

80 pounds-Quinton Anderson, third place.

84 pounds-Chase Johnson, fifth place.

88 pounds-Carson Javers, fourth place.

93 pounds-Brock Fier, fourth place. 102 pounds-Eli Gruenes, fifth place.

115 pounds-Noah Gorecki, fifth place.

130 pounds-Alex DePestel, sixth place.

Heavyweight-Stanley Siekmann-Adams, sixth place.

65 pounds Landon Pohlen, second place.

70 pounds-Mason Javers, second place.

75 pounds-Cole Johnson, third.

80 pounds-R.J. Sorensen, second place.

84 pounds-Browdy Lozinski, fourth place.

130 pounds-Kyler Lozinski, fifth place.

Photo: Members of the Minneota Youth Wrestling Team are: (front row, left to right) Cole Johnson, Nolan Van Keulen, Owen Myrvik, Landon Pohlen, Blake Mead, Adam DeVlaeminck, Heydan Danielson, Hunter Danielson and Derek Fier. Back Row: Mason Javers, Cael Fier, Brock Fier, Kyler Lozinski, Eli Gruenes, Carson Javers, Browdy Lozinski, Stanley Siekmann-Adams, Quinton Anderson, Chase Johnson, Noah Gorecki, Destin Fier and Alex DePestel. Special Photo.

Contact Us

The Minneota Mascot
Address: 201 N. Jefferson
Minneota, MN 56264

Phone:(507) 872-6492