Thomas Hennen (left) was awarded a plague for his 1,900 points by Minneota Basketball Coach Dave Busselman.

Minneota basketball players gain awards

Minneota senior Thomas Hennen and junior Logan Sussner were named to the Marshall Independent’s Basketball First Team. Cooper Hansen of Russell-Tyler-Ruthton was named the paper’s Player of the Year.

On Sunday, Minneota Coach Dave Busselman welcomed the players, parents and fans to the year end Boys’ Basketball banquet. Coach Busselman addressed the team and fans by reflecting on the past season.

The theme of his speech, centered on how this team had raised expectations for the program, and in doing so had raised the bar for future teams to strive towards. While acknowledging a sense of business left unfinished at the end of the year, Coach Busselman was proud of the team and excited for the future of the program.

He then took time to speak about the seniors each individually. Nick Hernandez-Martinez was recognized as a player who loved the game, and was willing to work on areas of his game to get better every day.

Mitchell Rost was seen as a great teammate, there to support and encourage those he was working with.

Jared Josephson was identified as a team leader, a player who did whatever was asked of him. Jared sacrificed individual stats for team success, whether that meant shutting down the other teams best player, or pushing the pace to get the offense starting sooner.

In Jared's two years as point guard for the Vikings, they averaged nearly 80 points per game.

Finally, Thomas Hennen was remembered for his fantastic all around game. Thomas completed his career with a scoring total of 1,970 points.

That's the most points ever scored by a player coached by Mr. Busselman. Coach Busselman then presented the team awards with the help of assistant coaches Mike Hennen and Mitchel VanWesten.

Spotlight on Scholarship awards were presented to Mitchell Rost, Thomas Hennen, Jared Josephson, Logan Sussner, Nolan Boerboom, Grady Moorse, Jacob Hennen, Braeden Panka, and Jacob Citterman.

Each of those players also received a varsity letter, as did Alex Saltzer, Nick Hernandez-Martinez and Joey Rybinski.

Also recognized with letters for their contribution to the team were Managers Hannah Brewers and Jackson Jeremiason. Camden Conference Recognition was bestowed upon Josephson, Sussner and both Hennen brothers.

Thomas also earned Co-MVP for the conference. Coach Busselman was recognized as the Camden Conference Coach of the Year.

Sussner and Thomas Hennen were presented with 1,000 point plaques and presented with Marshall Independent All-Area awards.

Thomas Hennen was presented a plaque for leading the team in Free Throw Percentage and another for being voted as Most Valuable Player by his teammates. Logan Sussner was recognized with an award as the Most Valuable Teammate by his peers.

Finally, the evening ended with Nolan Boerboom and Logan Sussner being selected as captains for next season.

Contact Us

The Minneota Mascot
Address: 201 N. Jefferson
Minneota, MN 56264

Phone:(507) 872-6492