Nearly 5,000 kids ran in the “Milaca Mega Meet” Saturday in Milaca, MN. Canby-Minneota’s varsity girls team finished second in their division. Here Minneotan Tristan Bierschenk (666 in center) battled the mammoth crowd during the junior varsity race. Minneota’s Jared Josephson stayed ahead of other competitors at the Milaca Mega Meet on Saturday. Placing second at the Milaca Mega Meet was the Canby-Minneota girls’ cross country team. They include: (left to right) Assistant Coach Allison Pesek, Delaney Houseman, Mackenzie Hemish, McKenzie Ruether, Grace Drietz, Kalli Jelen, Kameron King, Faith Traen and Coach Beth Jessen.

Milaca Mega Meet

They don’t call it a “Mega Meet” for nothing. With nearly 5,000 kids competing and almost 300 runners per category — it is huge!

So when Canby-Minneota’s (C-M) girls came in second place in the Girls Varsity Division 1 race, well, it wasn’t bad at all.

West Central of Elbow Lake, Wendell, Barrett, Hoffman, and Kensington won the meet with 132 points with the runners from Canby-Minneota in second at 162 — just 30 points off the pace amongst 31 teams and 238 runners.

While Ava Hill of Mesabi East won the meet in 18:57.5 — C-M’s Grace Drietz finished fourth at 20:28.9. Drietz, an eighth grader who has vaulted to the top of the local runners, led C-M to second overall.

McKenzie Ruether was 20th in 21:54.5 with Kameron King 42nd at 22:22.7 with Faith Traen 43rd at 22:58.7. C-M’s fifth runner Kalli Jelen came in a ways back at 82nd in 24:15. The other two runners were: 99. Delaney Houseman 24:43.5 and 102. Mackenzie Hemish, 24:43.5.

Here are the top 10 teams: 1. West Central 132; 2. Canby-Minneota 162; 3. United N. Central 180; 4. Heritage Christian 212; 5. Howard Lake-Waverly 215; 6. Lake Crystal-Welcome Memorial-Nicollet 227; 7. Mesabi East 246; 8. Sauk Centre 276; 9. Mounds Park Academy 299; 10. Marshall Duluth 299. (21 more). C-M’s BOYS didn’t fare quite as well — but they did finish ninth out of 27 teams. Mankato Loyola-Cleveland won the meet with 88 points while Canby-Minneota had 361.

Emmett Anderson of Staples-Motley won the meet in 16:33.6. C-M’s best runner was Anthony Wollum in 18th place at 17:57.9.

The other top five runners for the C-M boys included: 86. Sean Dilley, 19:16.2 90. Zach Hansen, 19:20.6 101. Jared Josephson 19:26.6. 110. Blake Stoks, 19:31.9 Others were: 142. Jalyn Ufkin, 20:08.3 217. Alexander Full, 20.52. (286 runners).

Contact Us

The Minneota Mascot
Address: 201 N. Jefferson
Minneota, MN 56264

Phone:(507) 872-6492