The Vikings are: (front row, left to right) Nolan Boerboom, Isaac Hennen,Thomas Hennen, Jared Josephson and Grady Moorse. Back: Assistant Coach Mike Hennen, Logan Sussner, Alex Saltzer, Jacob Hennen, Tristan Sorensen, Mitchell Rost and Coach Dave Busselman.


When Ivanhoe basketball players first joined Minneota, they had a tradition of playing in the “Candy Cane” holiday tournament with teams like Westbrook-Walnut Grove and Heron Lake-Okabena.

When the two schools became one team — the Minneota Vikings went naturally into the Candy Cane Tournament, which is held at various sites.

This year it was at Okabena — and the Minneota Vikings waltzed their way past Heron-Lake Okabena 91-54 to set up a title game with Westbrook-Walnut Grove, a 66-60 winner over Lakeview.

The two teams tangled themselves in a high-scoring thriller that included 23 three-pointers between the two squads.

When the dust cleared, Minneota had an 88-84 victory over Westbrook-Walnut Grove.

And for just the second time since Ivanhoe and Minneota came together — the Vikings took home the championship trophy. The Vikings are undefeated at 7-0 on the year.

Contact Us

The Minneota Mascot
Address: 201 N. Jefferson
Minneota, MN 56264

Phone:(507) 872-6492