Superintendent's Report

School Board Recognition Week February 17-February 21, 2020

The Minneota School District will join school districts throughout the state to salute their local education leaders during Minnesota’s annual School Board Recognition Week February 17-21.

The commemorative week is designed to recognize the contributions made by Minnesota’s school board members, including the Minneota School Board, who are charged with governing public education under state law.

Minnesota school board members are chosen by their communities through election or appointment to manage local schools. They oversee multimillion dollar budgets which fund education programs for more than 825,000 students in approximately 2,000 schools.

Their decisions affect more than 52,000 teachers, thousands of administrators and support workers. These volunteer leaders also are responsible for formulating school district policy, maintaining school facilities, and adhering to state and federal education law. Legalities and the complexities of school finance, including budgeting and taxation, require them to spend many hours in board training programs and personal study to enhance their understanding of these issues.

Our deepest appreciation is extended to the dedicated men and women who make it possible for local citizens to participate in education in our community.

We salute the public servants of the Minneota School Board whose commitment and civic responsibility make local control of public schools in our community possible:

  • Dawn Van Keulen, School Board Chair
  • Dan Longtin, School Board Vice Chair
  • Jeff Buysse, School Board Clerk
  • Terri Myhre, School Board Treasurer
  • Jeri Whortenbury, School Board Director
  • Abby Thostenson, School Board Director
  • Tom Skorczewski, School Board Director

Please join us by saying thanks to our school board members during Minnesota’s School Board Recognition Week! Dan Deitte, Superintendent of Schools

Contact Us

The Minneota Mascot
Address: 201 N. Jefferson
Minneota, MN 56264

Phone:(507) 872-6492